The 2019 TCR Scandinavia Touring Car Championship is back in action this weekend at the Falkenbergs Motorbana in the Halland province of Sweden, with the title fight set to reach an intense crescendo ahead of the summer break.

2017 champion Robert Dahlgren goes in with the points lead after winning last time out at his home circuit near Skellefteå, though the PWR Racing – SEAT Dealer Team driver is just six points ahead of his chief rival Andreas Wernersson in the standings, with the Brink Motorsport Audi driver having got the upper hand over the Cupra driver in both qualifying and the first race in Norrland, winning the first race by a whisker after a thrilling last lap tussle.

Though the two are putting on a brilliant display of gamesmanship as they fight for the title, the championship remains close with many others set to leap ahead should either of the points leaders falter at Falkenberg.

Andreas Ahlberg is third in the standings, with the Micke Kågered Racing Volkswagen driver having emerged as a true dark horse this season, with two podiums and a race victory at Anderstorp to his credit.

Tobias Brink, who ran into asome bad luck with overheating issues last time out at Skellefteå, remains in close contention, with the Audi driver still chasing his first victory of the season in his RS 3 LMS.

Meanwhile, Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky, who hit the ground running with pole position and a victory at the season opener at Knutstorp, bounced back from a tough weekend at Anderstorp with a podium finish at Skellefteå, and will be looking to break back into the top three this weekend, as well as bolster the now World Cup-winning PWR Racing team’s challenge in the teams’ trophy, where they sit just six points behind Brink Motorsport heading into the weekend.

A 13-car field is entered for the race, with Danish drivers Louise Frost and Jonas Lynge of the Insight Racing team making a welcome return, as does Scandinavia touring car stalwarts Brovallen Design, bringing back their Audi RS 3 LMS for Alex Andersson.

Qualifying gets underway at 16:40 CEST on Saturday, with both 26-lap race heats on Sunday at 13:00 and 15:20 CEST respectively.

Entry list

No – Name – Nat – Team – Car

2 – Robert Dahlgren – SWE – PWR Racing – Cupra TCR
4 – Andreas Wernersson – SWE – Brink Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS
6 – Jonas Lynge – DEN – Insight Racing – Honda Civic Type R FK2 TCR
11 – Louise Frost – DEN – Insight Racing – Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR
17 – Tomas Engström – SWE – Micke Kågered Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
19 – Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky – SWE – PWR Racing – Cupra TCR
20 – Mattias Andersson – SWE – Honda Racing Sweden – Honda Civic Type R FK2 TCR
21 – Andreas Ahlberg – SWE – Micke Kågered Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
22 – Albin Wärnelöv – SWE – Experion Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
23 – Alex Andersson – SWE – Brovellen Design – Audi RS 3 LMS
51 – Hannes Morin – SWE – Brink Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS
59 – Peter ‘Poker’ Wallenberg – SWE – Poker Racing For Charity – Cupra TCR
71 – Tobias Brink – SWE – Brink Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS


Saturday 13th July
09:00 – Test 1
13:30 – Test 2
16:40 – Qualifying

Sunday 14th July
09:00 – Warm up
13:00 – Race 1 (26 laps)
15:20 – Race 2 (26 laps)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here