This weekend it’s the final round of the 2019 TCR Scandinavia Touring Car Championship, and the intense battle for the drivers’ crown will reach its thrilling climax.

Four drivers are vying to be the first champion of the new era, with 2010 Scandinavian Touring Car Cup champion and 2017 STCC drivers’ champion Robert Dahlgren leading the way in his distinctive purple PWR Racing – SEAT Dealer Team Cupra TCR.

With three wins from ten races, the 39-year-old goes in with a 21-point advantage over his nearest rival, with 55 points available over the course of the weekend, meaning he’s well-placed but hardly out of reach from his fellow title contenders.

Two drivers chasing him in the title fight are Tobias Brink and Andreas Wernersson, 21 and 38 points behind each, and both team-mates at the Audi-equipped Brink Motorsport team, with the Eslöv squad enjoying a really competitive season.

Whether the team will let their two drivers battle it out, or whether they’ll work together in order to overhaul Dahlgren remains to be seen, but so far this year, their two young chargers have been free to fight, and together have successfully taken the battle to the championship-winning PWR Racing squad.

A new variable however is that Dahlgren will have some new help. Along with the continued support of race winner Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky, Dahlgren will have the support of team owner-driver Daniel Haglöf, who returns after a year away from the championship, and who’s been enjoying a competitive season in his new project, racing in the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup.

Last and not least is the championship “dark horse”, Andreas Ahlberg, third in the standings 31 points back, whose consistency has kept the Kågered Racing Volkswagen Golf driver in contention throughout the year, with good pace in the dry, and race-winning pace in the wet – weather, and any trouble for the championship leaders, could easily spring a surprise come Saturday evening.

There are other scraps to watch, as outside of the top four, PWR Racing’s Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky and Honda Racing Sweden’s Mattias Andersson continue their battle to be best-of-the-rest, now tied on points in fifth after some exciting on-track battles last time out at Jyllandsringen.

The next major battle however after the drivers’ championship is the teams’ title battle – which is the drivers’ battle flipped around, with Brink Motorsport leading the charge here, 20 points ahead of last year’s teams’ champions PWR Racing – SEAT Dealer Team.

So, it’ll be all about the numbers this weekend, as Dahlgren fights to stop the Brinks overhauling his drivers’ points lead, all the while he tries to take away from their teams’ battle lead.

It’s an exciting crescendo to a close season, with news to be announced about the championship’s exciting future on Friday at the circuit.

Qualifying gets underway at 15:35 CEST on Friday, with both 14 lap heats on Saturday at 12:55 and 15:28 CEST respectively.

Live streaming is available throughout the weekend at and also on the TCR series hub at

Entry list

2 – Robert Dahlgren – SWE – PWR Racing – Cupra TCR
4 – Andreas Wernersson – SWE – Brink Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS
10 – Kristian Sætheren – DEN – Insight Racing – Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce
17 – Tomas Engström – SWE – Micke Kågered Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
19 – Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky – SWE – PWR Racing – Cupra TCR
20 – Mattias Andersson – SWE – Honda Racing Sweden – Honda Civic Type R FK2 TCR
21 – Andreas Ahlberg – SWE – Micke Kågered Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
22 – Albin Wärnelöv – SWE – Experion Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
37 – Daniel Haglöf – SWE – PWR Racing – Cupra TCR
51 – Hannes Morin – SWE – Brink Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS
59 – Peter ‘Poker’ Wallenberg – SWE – Poker Racing For Charity – Cupra TCR
71 – Tobias Brink – SWE – Brink Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS


Friday 4th October
10:30 – Test 1
12:45 – Test 2
15:35 – Qualifying 1
16:00 – Qualifying 2

Saturday 5th October
09:00 – Warm up
12:55 – Race 1 (14 laps)
15:28 – Race 2 (14 laps)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here