The penultimate round of the 2019 TCR Scandinavia Touring Car Championship takes place this weekend, with Scandinavian touring cars returning to race at the Jyllandsringen circuit for the first time in seven years – with a host of Danish drivers joining the fold as the title battle builds towards its crescendo.

An expanded entry of six Danish drivers will join the eight Swedish drivers, as the season gets one step closer to the end, with PWR Racing – SEAT Dealer Team driver Robert Dahlgren leading the standings and chasing his second title, but is still hotly pursued by the Brink Motorsport Audis of Tobias Brink and Andreas Wernersson in the points table, with Brink trailing Dahlgren by just 15 points and Wernersson by 18 with 110 still to play for.

Dahlgren is one of just three of the Swedish drivers in the field who has raced a front-wheel drive touring car at the Danish circuit before, although this was back in 2010, when the 39-year-old was then racing for the Polestar Racing team in a Volvo C30 and took pole position, in the year in which he was on his way to the inaugural Scandinavian Touring Car Cup title.

The other two are Mattias Andersson, the Honda driver having scored the most points three weeks’ ago at Karlskoga. Andersson raced at Jyllandsringen last in 2011 in his memorable MA:GP Alfa Romeo 156 S2000, while the driver with the most recent experience is fourth-placed in the standings Andreas Ahlberg, who raced there in an Audi A4 in 2012, in the final year of Super 2000.

The six Danes however have much more experience of the track, and are threatening to have their most competitive outing yet.

Insight Racing, which has run an Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR for Louise Frost for much of the season, will step up to run three cars this weekend – running a Honda Civic FK2 TCR for returning Jonas Lynge, a new model Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR for Kristian Sætheren, while team owner Martin Jensen will take over Frost’s older Alfa Romeo in a last-minute change of plan.

Kim Lund, who raced at Anderstorp in his DSG-equipped Cupra TCR, run by Madbull Racing, will also be returning for his home race – while there are two exciting additional entries from the region as well.

First, there’s the return of the Hyundai brand to the grid, with an i30 N TCR run by Hyundai Team Denmark, who are entering a car for Danish rally driver Marco Gersager.

Also on the grid will be Danish motorsport veteran Casper Elgaard – five times a winner of the Danish Touring Car Championship. Elgaard will race a Honda Civic FK7 TCR run by his team, Massive Motorsport, with technical support from car builders JAS Motorsport.

It’s the first time the tenth-generation Honda Civic will race in the Scandinavian championship, battling against the two previous generation cars raced by Lynge and Andersson.

Qualifying gets underway at 16:25 CEST on Saturday, with both 20-minute heats on Sunday at 11:40 and 15:45 CEST respectively.

Live streaming is available throughout the weekend at

Mattias Andersson, #20 Honda Racing Sweden Civic TCR, said:
“It’s a circuit where I haven’t raced for many years. I raced there for the first time in 1992 in Formula Opel Lotus and won – and then we raced there in 2009-2011 – it’s a nice circuit, it’s a technical circuit – and the Danish drivers know the circuit very well, so I expect them to be more competitive there.”

Tobias Brink, #71 Brink Motorsport Audi RS 3 LMS, said:

“I’ve been at Jyllandsringen once or twice. It’s a tricky track, and quite narrow – the Danish people know how to throw a good party so it’ll be good fun to go over there, especially with some more Danish competitors on the grid.”

Casper Elgaard, #5 Massive Motorsport Honda Civic FK7 TCR, said:
“It will be my first ever experience with a TCR car, so it is not ideal with no previous experience and that I have not raced since 2016.

“I know the circuit very well, and hopefully that will be enough for me to fight for a place on the podium. I know it will not be easy; it is a great championship with some very good drivers.”

Entry list

2 – Robert Dahlgren – SWE – PWR Racing – Cupra TCR
4 – Andreas Wernersson – SWE – Brink Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS
5 – Casper Elgaard – DEN – Massive Motorsport – Honda Civic Type R FK7 TCR
6 – Jonas Lynge – DEN – Insight Racing – Honda Civic Type R FK2 TCR
7 – Kim Lund – DEN – Madbull Racing – Cupra TCR DSG
8 – Marco Gersager – DEN – Hyundai Team Denmark – Hyundai i30 N TCR
9 – Martin Jensen – DEN – Insight Racing – Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR
10 – Kristian Sætheren – DEN – Insight Racing – Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR
19 – Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky – SWE – PWR Racing – Cupra TCR
20 – Mattias Andersson – SWE – Honda Racing Sweden – Honda Civic Type R FK2 TCR
21 – Andreas Ahlberg – SWE – Micke Kågered Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
22 – Albin Wärnelöv – SWE – Experion Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
51 – Hannes Morin – SWE – Brink Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS
71 – Tobias Brink – SWE – Brink Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS


Friday 6th September
17:25 – Test 1

Saturday 7th September
12:00 – Test 2
16:25 – Qualifying 1
16:50 – Qualifying 2

Sunday 8th September
11:40 – Race 1 (20 mins + 1 lap)
15:45 – Race 2 (20 mins + 1 lap)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here